This Blogger’s Pledge

I was of the opinion that blogging was glorified self-promotion. The dictionary says blogging is to share experiences, opinions and observations. Still sounds a little too much “all about me” for any blog I would want to follow. Maybe the same is true for you. On the surface why would you care about my experiences, opinions or observations enough to invest your valuable time following them?

My primary purpose for blogging is to communicate with readers, as though over a cup of coffee, what I discover in my study of God’s word. I’ve been posting similarly on Face Book for quite awhile but those, of necessity, are just a few lines. I am hoping for opportunity to go a bit deeper in a blog. I will be honest with you when the words of scripture convict me and rejoice with you as together we see more and more of God revealed.

At first I will stick with observations on scripture passages. Whatever I am blogging, I make this pledge: I will not blog unless I am ready to tell the truth – about me, my walk with God and my interaction with His Word, His people and those around me who may not yet be His people. Occasionally I might have something funny to blog, or some tidbit of general informational value, but for the most part I promise simply to be genuinely me.

I hope you will comment and be likewise transparent. How can we truly communicate otherwise? 

Jms 1:1-4 “James, a servant of God and of the Lord Jesus Christ, to the 12 tribes in the Dispersion: Greetings. Count it all joy, my brothers, when you meet trials of various kinds, for you know that the testing of your faith produces steadfastness (patience). And let steadfastness have its full effect, that you may be perfect and complete, lacking in nothing.”

Wait. What? Trials are reason for joy? Does it really require trials, difficulties for me to become a patient, dependable, faithful follower of Jesus? Does it really require training for one to become a strong athlete? And does that training involve pain? Those whose lives are lived on a bed of rose petals (who are those people?) never develop any character at all. They have no opportunity to develop perseverance. Of course I think I would prefer to select the kind and intensity of trial I will face, but I don’t get to do that. What I do get is the privilege of trusting the decisions of the God who made me, loves me, died to redeem and make me his own. He knows what it will take to make me the follower he wants me to be. I want to be that follower!

COUNT           It joy when you face testing

KNOW            That God is producing patience

LET                 God do His work in you unchallenged

ASK                 For wisdom so you don’t waste opportunities

DESIRE           Greater things than what you settle for

BELIEVE         The truth God declares about you (Thanks, Joy Richter Woodman)

Leave a Reply

