Grace, More and More

My pride rears its ugly head and demands what I want, because my understanding is superior! To God’s!!!??? Well, no, of course not. But…

 

Jms. 4:6 “(God) gives us more grace. That is why Scripture says: ‘God opposes the proud but gives grace to the humble.’”

In the Amplified Version of Proverbs 3:34 we read, “Though He scoffs at the scoffers and scorns the scorners, yet He gives (His grace) His undeserved favor to the low [in rank], the humble, and the afflicted.”

            God gives sufficient grace to convince our hearts that we are sinful. He gives the grace of repentance and makes us his child. Then for all of our Christian life in him he showers us with the grace we need to live for him. We have no power to resist temptation unless God’s grace provides it. We have no will to obey him unless God’s grace gives us the will, (Phil. 2:13).

The S-word with which we struggle (submission) is coming in the next verse. In context we can see our great need for grace in order to resist pride and choose humble submission to Almighty God. It is a constant struggle for each one of us to acknowledge that he really does know what he’s doing and that what he’s doing is best.

Oh, yeah; I require constant reminding that you want me to humble myself beneath your mighty hand (1 Pet. 5:6) and you’ll take care of the situation in the way that brings you the greatest glory and brings me the greatest good. I tend to forget that in the heat of the moment when my desires are battling within me.

Thank you, Holy Spirit, for being faithful to remind me and for giving me more and more of your amazing grace. I need that grace for forgiveness. I need it for the power it provides to choose to go low and humble myself. I need that grace to calm the selfish desires battling within me so I can align myself with the purposes of Almighty God and want, more than anything else, for him to be glorified in my life.

One thought on “Grace, More and More

Leave a Reply

