Stop!

How often do you stop and think, “This could be my last day, my last breath?” What percentage of your plans are submitted to God before you make them, let alone act on them?

 

Jms. 4:13-16 “Now listen, you who say, ‘Today or tomorrow we will go to this or that city, spend a year there, carry on business and make money,’ Why you do not even know what will happen tomorrow. What is your life? You are a mist that appears for a little while and then vanishes. Instead, you ought to say, ‘If it is the Lord’s will, we will live and do this or that.’ As it is you boast and brag. All such boasting is evil. Anyone, then, who knows the good he ought to do and doesn’t do it, sins.”

Only the very elderly, very wise are aware that their time is so short that they don’t even buy green bananas. The rest of us are guilty of thinking we have all the time in the world, aren’t we? 

Stop. Pray regarding my plans for tomorrow? I only do that if I’m aware that tomorrow I have scheduled a conversational walk through a mine-field, or the day holds something weighty like a Bible Study to teach or a potential opportunity to share the gospel with someone. And yet the truth is clear, this COULD be my last breath! And God DOES want my plans laid out before him, yielded to him. He wants me to understand the basic fact that he is the One who plans my days. I do not. He wants me to be aware of that – grateful for that.

James says it’s boastful to proceed as though we’re leaving God out of the equation. That means pride is involved; it’s rejecting the concept of submitting our plans to God, having to acknowledge that we need him at all. James says that behavior is evil. In the original language the implication is that it leads to harm and pain.

James clarifies what is right and what is wrong then delivers the punch line: if I know what’s right and refuse to do it, I sin.

Lord God, I acknowledge that you are the One who plans my days, even the moments of my days. It is my privilege simply to report for duty. Unfold your plans for my day. Give me sufficient grace to speak, teach, remain silent, drive courteously, represent you accurately in each situation you have designed for my day. When my head hits the pillow tonight I pray for trust and peace regarding what you did with this day.

2 thoughts on “Stop!

  1. Thank you–I need this reminder.
    so much to do–the body aches and is tired and mind gets stretched–just to stop and thank God for His direction and wisdom.
    In Ps 143 verse 8 Cause me to know the way in which I should wake,I add and work.

    Take care. Love, phyllis

    Like

Leave a Reply

