Heart Transplant

Heart transplants are absolutely amazing surgical procedures, aren’t they? I have wondered if one who receives a new heart surgically is usually so grateful that improved behavior shows forth in their life. Do they love better with their new heart? In the movie “Return to Me” the recipient of the new heart comes into contact with the grieving husband whose wife had died after she had offered her heart for transplant. “Fate” provided for that heart to continue loving the same man. That’s Hollywood for you.

 

God does heart transplants. He says, in Ezekiel 11:19b, “I will take the stony heart out of their flesh, and will give them an heart of flesh…” He refers to the process of regeneration when he gives faith to a heart and brings a person into his kingdom as his very own child. That heart is so changed from rebellion against God to loving and serving him that it can be likened to a transplanted heart. I received that “heart of flesh” many years ago and I am very grateful to God for his work in giving spiritual life to my heart.

Recently I received another heart transplant and it really took me by surprise! I had experienced tension between myself and another person for some years, rationalizing away all my responsibility, convinced the fault lay squarely in the lap of this other person. Two weeks ago we had a conversation about our relationship. There was nothing earth-shaking said in the context of that conversation, but something life-changing happened within my heart in the hour following.

As I drove away I realized my heart had changed. Wait a minute, I thought. Why did my heart need to change? I was convinced all the fault lay with that other person! But God removed the stony-hearted attitude I had carried toward that person for many years and replaced it with a heart of genuine love. This was a true miracle of God’s amazing grace. I didn’t deserve it. I did nothing to earn it. I didn’t ask for it. I didn’t even think I needed it. God knew I needed it and he wanted my heart toward that person to change – so he changed it!

In these intervening days it has felt as though I were walking on clouds. A weight I did not know I carried has been lifted. The interactions between myself and this person are free from tension. We are moving ahead into a genuine friendship that had been impossible before.

Many aspects of this heart transplant amaze me.

That I, who think I am usually pretty aware of sin in my life and eager to be rid of it, was completely unaware that my own heart was stone cold toward this person.

That the Blessed Controller of all things did what I desperately needed without ever making me aware that I needed it. (Reminds me of how he works regarding our initial regeneration, our salvation.)

That it happened in an instant, not over a period of time – but in an instant.

That the other person in this scenario is likewise now free of tension toward me.

The freedom I feel to love this person genuinely.

God is not bound by formula. He has never done this for me before. In the past he has made me aware that my heart was wrong toward someone, given me the gift of sorrowful repentance over that and worked over time to change me. But this was amazingly instantaneous.

Now he is giving me that sorrowing gift of repentance regarding my heart attitude toward another individual. He hasn’t chosen to change my heart immediately this time. He is making me aware that my attitude is sinful. I am certainly aware that he is able to change my heart. The question is whether or not I am willing to let him. Feeling this way about this other person has become a very familiar part of me. It will have to be cut out of me, something like a surgical procedure. Oh, kind of like a heart transplant!

Change my heart, O God; make it ever true.

Change my heart, O God; make me more like you.

You are the Potter. I am the clay. Mold me a make me; this is what I pray.

Change my heart, O God; make it ever true.

Change my heart, O God; make me more like you.

 

3 thoughts on “Heart Transplant

  1. Kitty.
    .this post has touched my heart. Isn’t it just like our loving Father to do a work such as this? I think it is amazing how He knew that you had this feeling, sin, growing in your heart. He set it up for the two of you to talk, whatever that might have been about, it was He who brought the two of you together, …….then the stirring in your heart, ohhhhhh how sweet that it.
    I am struggling with a husband and his wife in the area of “forgiveness”. I know I am supposed to forgive. They probably don’t even know I feel this way, but it is my issue. So, when I think of them I pray two things. One, “Lord bless them.” two, Lord, change me. I know my God will do both of those requests that I ask.
    Thank you for sharing this morning. May the Lord continue to use you in the mighty way He has for so many years
    Diana Burnham

    Like

  2. Pingback: A Traumatized Life

Leave a Reply

