Closer

We have a Christmas album by Twila Paris on which she sings the story of a character in the manger scene. I think it’s a shepherd. He’s too far away from the baby and the desire of his heart is heard, “move me closer, closer to the child.”

Sometimes I, too, feel that I am too far away to appreciate what is happening in the incarnation. My mind knows the story so well that my heart can be distant from the impact of Almighty, Creator God actually relinquishing his heavenly station to take on the form of helpless humanity – for the purpose of living perfectly, fulfilling God’s law in every detail and then surrendering himself to death, to overcome death and pave the way for us to enjoy his presence for eternity.

That should have a powerful impact on my heart and move me closer to the Child!!

Leave a Reply

