Words

It’s been awhile since I’ve entered a blog. I don’t write them just to see my words in print, so to speak. So I’ve waited…

The words of my mouth are ever and always the biggest challenge in my life. I deeply desire that they be acceptable in the sight of my Lord, my Rock and my Redeemer (Psalm 19:14). Too often they are filled with pride and superiority. Who do I think I am to put someone else down with the inflection and choice of my words? I hate it but I do it.

I am a mentor and the confidentiality of mentors must be trustworthy. I am very careful to exclude names, but I find myself giving unnamed examples in order to puff myself up. I am once again deeply grateful for the cautions expressed to me by my very-careful husband.

A Psalm that always hits me upside the head is 141:3, “Set a watch, O Lord, before my mouth; keep the door of my lips.” This morning I read, “Keep your tongue from evil,” (Psalm 34:13).

What I desire is to extol the Lord at all times with his praise continually on my lips, (Psalm 34:1). My gratitude for God’s extravagant grace goes deep as I come face to face once again with my inability to be consistent with my words. When I fail his grace is there to convince, convict and grant repentance. When I succeed it is only by his empowering grace.

2 thoughts on “Words

  1. Seems to be the lesson the Lord is teaching me as well my friend. Yes, Lord, keep a watch over my lips. My mouth can really get me in trouble. As much as I want to bless the Lord with my lips, I often grieve Him by saying something to someone that I shouldn’t say. I remember 1 John 1:9….Thank you Lord for your love, mercy and acceptance.

    Thank you Kitty for sharing your heart again.

    Like

Leave a Reply

