In

What does it mean to be “in?” It indicates location, meaning inside, contained, wrapped up, surrounded. That tiny word says something about me according to Colossians 3:3, “… you have died and your life is hidden with Christ in God.”

As A. W. Tozer attempts to explain God’s attribute of infinitude he says, “when you get into God, ‘with Christ in God,’ then you’re on a journey into infinity, into infinitude. There is no limit and no place to stop. There isn’t just one work of grace, or a second work or a third work and then that’s it. There are numberless experiences and spiritual epochs and crises that can take place in your life while you are journeying out into the heart of God in Christ.”

The concept that I am journeying out into the heart of God in Christ simply astounds me! I believe it. I rejoice in it. But it’s far more than I can absorb.

So I take just one bite of the elephant by enjoying Psalm 46 this morning where I am reminded that God is my refuge and strength. Whether he requires that I be tucked up beneath his arm (refuge) or go forth to face the foe (strength), he is my omnipresent help in trouble. I need not fear even if the earth give way, the mountains literally fall into the sea and the waters roar and foam. I am IN Christ IN God – journeying out into the heart of God in Christ. I am privileged to be still, and know that he is God, he will be exalted, and I am IN him!

2 thoughts on “In

Leave a Reply

