Psalm 8

O Jehovah, my Sovereign, the Blessed Controller of all things,

how majestic is your name in all the earth!

Your splendor and the excellence of your character

can be seen in everything you do

throughout all the world and the entire universe.         

            It astounds me that you have chosen to silence your enemies

            through the praise of the weakest among us.

When I slow down to enjoy the expanse of the universe

I see what your fingers have set in place and I wonder,

“What am I that you give me Jesus

and tenderly care for me, even as you care for him?”

For a time you gave him a position lower than the angels

but eternally you give him distinction, honor and splendor.

All you have set in motion is placed beneath his feet.                                  

            O Jehovah, my Sovereign,

            the Blessed Controller of all things,

            how excellent is your character

            in everything you do in all the world.

(Personalized from the Original Hebrew)

One thought on “Psalm 8

Leave a Reply

