Psalm 13

I’m feeling alone and forgotten, Lord! 

I know the truth: you will never leave or forsake me, but right now I feel alone and forgotten. Are you angry with me? Have you turned away from me, after all? Turning to my own mind for guidance just increases my sorrow.

My enemies, (the world culture around me, my own self-absorption and Satan himself) are getting the upper hand over me. Help!

Please see my situation and respond, O Jehovah, my God! I am weak and near death. Unless you heal me and provide your guidance and help, I will perish. Then my enemies will rejoice in victory over me. 

In the absence of feeling close to you, your grace enables me still to trust in your loyal, covenant love for me and I rejoice in the deliverance I trust will come. I am empowered to sing in praise of Jehovah who treats me well.

(Personalized from the Original Hebrew)

Leave a Reply

