Psalm 22:1-18

I love the honesty of the Psalms. Sometimes we feel alone, abandoned, worthless.

It is good to know others experience the same and lightning doesn’t strike.

 

Why do I feel so forsaken?

Oh Elohim, my God, why have you relinquished your hold on me?

Why are you so distant from my need for deliverance, so deaf to my cries of anguish?

O God, I cry out day and night but find no answer, no peace.

 

I know my praise lifts you up and lifts up my own heart as well.

Others cry out to you and remain confident in you

and they are not disappointed because you deliver them.

 But I feel worthless, disgraced, despised.

People mock and sneer at me, saying,

“She delights in God? Well then, let that God deliver her!”

Your deliverance feels far from me and I am beginning to despair.

 

You are the one who saw me successfully delivered at birth.

You gave me faith to trust in you, my Elohim.

Please reassure my heart regarding your nearness.

Trouble surrounds me and there is protection nowhere but in you.

 I am totally depleted from the inside out;

it feels like ravenous animals are circling for the kill.

I possess no courage, no strength;

you have brought me to the point of death.

 

When I think I am the most miserable person imaginable

you bring me to my senses with words like these:

“They have pierced my hands and feet and they gamble for my clothing.”

You point my heart to Christ Who suffered to give me a future and a hope.

Thank you!

(Personalized from the Original Hebrew)

Leave a Reply

