Psalm 40

In my church family and beyond I happily announce the good news of Christ’s righteousness wrapped all ‘round his own. I cannot be silent about this amazing truth, hiding it in my own heart. No! I must declare aloud your trustworthiness and your provision of deliverance.

     When I settle down in peace, waiting on God’s answer, he lets me know he hears my cry for help. He lifts me up above my shifting circumstances, strengthens and stabilizes me. He puts a song in my heart that rises up in praise to my God. When people see how he treats me and hear my praise they respond to him in appropriate reverence and trust.

The man who places his confidence in Jehovah turns away from gods that are no gods. That man is the object of God’s special favor and grace! 

O Jehovah, the great I Am, my Elohim, you have cared for me so wonderfully in the past. Perfect obedience you do not require. You love me and provide redemption from condemnation. It is all too marvelous for me to put into words.

You have opened my ears to your truth and written your law on my heart so my response is, “I delight to do your will, O my Supreme God.”

In my church family and beyond I happily announce the good news of Christ’s righteousness wrapped all ‘round his own. I cannot be silent about this amazing truth, hiding it in my own heart. No! I must declare aloud your trustworthiness and your provision of deliverance.

Thank you for showering me with your mercy, not treating me as my sinfulness deserves. I am so often disobedient, yielding to the pressure of my enemies. My heart is not strong in itself. Please protect me with your kindness and your truth. Deliver me; help me!

My enemies, the world culture, my own self-absorption and desires, and Satan himself all seek to destroy me. Bring them down in confusion and shame. Drive them back and dishonor them. I am poor and needy yet Adonai has me on his mind, to help and deliver me. What amazing grace! 

Those who worship you are given joy and gladness in you, they continually declare, “All glory to Jehovah!”

– Personalized from the original Hebrew

Leave a Reply

