Psalm 42

Sometimes we must speak sternly to our soul, “Why are you depressed and complaining? I have every reason to hope in my God!”

            My soul longs and thirsts for you, Elohim, Triune God, like the thirsty deer pants for water. When shall I be close to you again? My very tears mock me saying, “Where is your God?”

            Right now my soul is depressed and therefore I choose to remember walking on the heights with you. I am sustained by wonderful memories of rejoicing and celebrating you, leading others in glad worship. I speak to my soul and say “Why are you depressed and complaining? I have every reason to hope in Elohim and praise him for the deliverance I know will come.”

            From the depths of my soul I call out to the depths of yours. This assignment from your hand weighs heavily on me like the breakers of the sea. Have you forgotten me? Must I continue to grieve and hear the taunts of my enemies, “Where is your God?”

            When my soul is downcast and disturbed, every day Jehovah sends his covenant love to soothe me. In the night a song of prayer rises up to him, “Put your hope in God, for I will yet praise him. He is my Savior, my Triune God.

– Personalized from the original Hebrew

Leave a Reply

