Psalm 44

You are not to be understood by me. I begin to see that truth. Your material blessings are not tied to my level of faithfulness. You are sovereign God and you select my assignments to accomplish your greatest glory and my very best ultimate good. I know my redemption is the work of your hand and that is all I have to know.

            Our fathers have told us how you showed yourself powerful on behalf of Israel. It was your hand that freed our people and drove the inhabitants from the Promised Land to plant our people in it. Not by their own power or ingenuity were they victorious. You handed them victory because you chose to delight in them.

            Still today you ordain salvation for your own. Through you we conquer our enemies and rise up over those who seek to oppress us. We boast in you, Triune God, not in our own strength or in our weapons of war. You have disappointed our enemies and saved us. We will worship you in gratitude forever.

            I am confused. I thought you blessed me because I was faithful to you. But I thought I was remaining faithful and you withdrew your material blessing, allowing my enemies a measure of success in their attacks against me. I am taunted by those around me, “Where is your God now that you are suffering?”

            I am in trouble, in pain and grief though I have not forgotten you or turned away from you. You know my heart and you know I continue to love and trust you.

            You are not to be understood by me. I begin to see that truth. Your material blessings are not tied to my level of faithfulness. You are sovereign God and you select my assignments to accomplish your greatest glory and my very best ultimate good. I know my redemption is the work of your hand and that is all I have to know.

– Personalized from the original Hebrew

Leave a Reply

