Psalm 51

God, you do not hide your face from my sin. Instead you bear the blame for it upon yourself and thereby declare me clean. You purify me so my soul is whiter than snow and my iniquity is erased!

     Stoop down in kindness and steadfast love, O Triune God. Don’t condemn me as my sinfulness deserves. Wipe out my offense; wash and cleanse me completely from my sinfulness.

     I acknowledge my rebellion, my habitual sinfulness stares me in the face. Others are affected and often hurt when I disregard your law but it is to you I am accountable for my sinful rebellion and evil behaviors. You are righteous and blameless as you pronounce a verdict of “guilty” over me. I have been disposed to sinful rebellion against you from the very moment of my birth but you have taken care to teach your wisdom to my heart and you delight to see it demonstrated in my behavior.

     You do not hide your face from my sin. Instead you bear the blame for it upon yourself and thereby declare me clean. You purify me so my soul is whiter than snow and my iniquity is erased!

   Create something new in me, O God. Make me new within so my spirit is strong toward you with a courageous disposition toward purity. You promised never to leave me so I know you won’t cast me out of your presence or take your Spirit away from me. But please don’t set me aside and deny me the joy of investing in your kingdom as my salvation prompts me to do. In your generosity of Spirit hold me up so I can teach other sinners about you and watch you give them faith and bring them to yourself.

     You are my God, the one who saves me from the condemnation my sin deserves. As you open my lips, O Master God, I will tell and demonstrate praise of your righteousness in declaring me clean because of Jesus’ payment for my sin.

     If the sacrifice of an animal for a burnt offering were what you require for me to be forgiven, I would bring that. But what you want is my heart broken over my sinfulness and remorse for having offended you. You give me the gift of repentance, and you will not despise it as I lift it up to you.

     O Triune God, I trust you to care for the future of your people.

– Personalized from the original Hebrew

One thought on “Psalm 51

Leave a Reply

