Psalm 55

Lay your burden in the capable hands of Jehovah. He will hold you up, never letting fall those to whom he has given his righteousness!

     Oh God, I am deeply troubled. Please hear me, give me grace and protect me from the attacks against me and from my own thoughts of vengeance. I feel completely defenseless in the face of destructive forces that threaten and lie continually. I fear for my life. I just want to mount the wings of a dove, fly away and be at peace!  

                                                 I pause for moment to consider that.

     I could endure insults and hide from enemy attack but this onslaught comes not from an enemy but from my fellow believer, a close friend within my own church family! He thinks nothing of breaking contracts with his smooth, soothing, deceptive words that actually are sharp as drawn swords. My own thoughts toward him are malicious and merciless. I want to see this betrayer buried alive!

   But I cry out to my supreme God and Jehovah delivers me from the venom of my spiteful thoughts and protects me from the harm my betrayer would visit upon me. I do not cease to need nor fail to acknowledge my need for God’s grace at all moments of every day! He hears me and ransoms me from the battles within and without, providing fresh grace for my submission to him.

That calls for an interlude of contemplation.

     I say, “Place your burden in the capable hands of Jehovah. He will hold you up, never letting fall those to whom he has given his righteousness!”

     As for me, I am determined to trust God, placing all my confidence in him.

– Personalized from the original Hebrew

Leave a Reply

