Psalm 57

     Show compassion on me, O God; my life takes its refuge in you. Until my troubles pass I take my shelter in the shadow of your wings like a chick with its mother.

     I feel surrounded by ravenous beasts. I cry for help to El Elyon, the Most High ruler of the universe who vindicates the innocent and judges the wicked, to God who avenges me. He sends his love and faithfulness from heaven to save me and to rebuke those who would crush me.

That is worth pausing to consider.

     Be exalted, O God, above the heavens; let your glory be over all the earth. The very heavens cannot contain you; your exaltation extends beyond them and your splendor extends over all the earth!

     My enemies hunt for me with snares and traps, wearing down my soul. They have been captured in the pit dug for me.                                                                                                                                

Just think of that!

     You have made my heart steadfast, O God. I am firmly resolved to sing and make music, even throughout the night, so that I usher in the dawn with my praise of you.

     I will declare aloud your wonders in the presence of many nations, singing your praise among the peoples of the world. Your love and faithfulness know no bounds.

     Be exalted, O God, above the heavens; let your glory be over all the earth. The very heavens cannot contain you; your exaltation extends beyond them and your splendor extends over all the earth! *

– Personalized from the original Hebrew

* I will never forget the experience of driving across the Arizona desert at sunset one evening many years ago when this Psalm was being sung on my radio and the glorious colors you painted across the sky extended horizon to horizon, east to west, north to south. Truly, your glory was seen extended over all the earth – and I was blessed!

Leave a Reply

