Psalm 69:1-12

O, Father God, my worst fear is that others who trust you would be confused because of my behavior – that I would bring reproach on them and on you. Please prevent that! May it be clear to all around that your grace envelopes me, forgiving when I fail, providing strength to forge ahead, and then forgiving me when I fail again, which I do on such a regular basis. Your grace is everything!

 

     “When I think I’m going under, part the water, Lord. When I feel the waves surround me, strengthen me. When I cry for help, O hear me, Lord, and hold out your hand; touch my life and still the raging storm in me.”*

     Difficult circumstances often churn me up inside. The water is deep; I can’t touch bottom. I know you brought me to this place so I would have no recourse but to trust you. “If you say ‘walk out on the water’ and they say it can’t be done, I’ll fix my eyes on you and I will come.”** Lord I do trust you; when my trust waivers and weakens please strengthen it!

   My enemies hold a fierce hatred of me because you have chosen me to belong to you. The world culture around me wants me to give in and be just like those who reject you. My own history, habits and self-absorption make sure I think of me first, regardless of what you want. Satan himself is furious that I belong to you. They all want to cut me off from you! They continually accuse me of things I haven’t done. You know what I have done; it wasn’t always right. In fact I am sinful through and through and you know it full well.

     O, Father God, my worst fear is that others would look up to me and then be confused because of my consistent failures – that I would bring reproach on them and on you. Please prevent that! Don’t let people see me as some kind of example, except as an illustration of your grace. I will fail them. May it be clear to all around that your grace envelopes me, forgiving when I fail, providing strength to forge ahead, and then forgiving me when I fail again, which I do on such a regular basis. Your grace is everything!

– Personalized from the original Hebrew 

* From the Song, “Part the Water” by Charles F. Brown

** From the song, “If You Say Go We Will Go” by Diane Thiel

Leave a Reply

