Psalm 71:9-18

     Now I am getting old, my strength diminishes. I seem to be increasingly vulnerable to attacks of my enemies conspiring to damage my connection to you. Where did they ever get the idea that you have abandoned me and will no longer help me fight this spiritual warfare effectively? Cover them in shame and disgrace, Elohim, as you continually come to my aid.

     O God, from my youth you have taught me that your saving work is far beyond my comprehension and nonetheless worthy of my praise. I will proclaim the righteousness you alone possess.

     I know you will never forsake me as I age and my hair turns gray. Give me more opportunities to declare your mighty power on behalf of those who belong to you. I want the next generation to understand who you are and who you want to me in and through them. Give them faith, Father, and understanding hearts. Please draw my progeny into relationship with you!

– Personalized from the original Hebrew

Leave a Reply

