Psalm 137

     Before you rescued and delivered me from bondage in sin, there were no songs of praise and celebration in my heart. I had no awareness of you, Lord God, nor of your presence in the world at large or in my own world. I was far from you in a state of darkness.    

     Since my redemption when my enemies, the world, my own self and Satan, defeat me for a time, my heart is sad because of my failure. But I can never be devastated because your mercy has cleansed me and you see me as completely obedient and victorious because you see me through the obedience of my Savior!

     This Psalm expresses the deep sadness of those who are forcibly separated from your presence, refused access to worship you. I praise you that I am never far from you, my Immanuel. You dwell within my heart and nothing ever can separate us! This calls for continuous praise.

(Personalized, key words researched in the original Hebrew.)

Leave a Reply

